Knowledge and Other Bubbles

Knowledge is a tricky thing. The Genesis myth is a piece of the puzzle. Nowadays, thanks to the internet, and compulsory schooling, all knowledge is considered to be free and all one has to do is demand it and here it comes, like the replicator on the Starship Enterprise.

Picard: “Tea hot.”

Since even the youngest schoolchild who is capable of memorizing rhetoric is now “intelligent” and everyone gets a trophy, there is no reason to assume that we’re not all perfectly capable of emotionally handling all truths. Right?

Therefore, by not revealing all truths to all comers, I must be terribly selfish and elitist. Not to mention ageist, sexist, and just plain mean.

If I withhold information about my own values, beliefs, sacred, money, private life, I must be terribly cruel, selfish, deceptive, shallow, etc.

If I reveal them, I can “trigger” or induce a flood of invective or hysteria based on closely held myths, cognitive dissonance, shame, childhood programming, television, “sacred authority figures”, etc.

I am learning that induced and programmed fear of viruses is so pervasive today as to be nearly impenetrable. Therefore, a person who refuses to be vaccinated is as much a pariah as is one who advocates them. To submit oneself to government authorities to be “tested” has that same duality. Government is “good” and the collection of all data is “good”, because most people are “good-intentioned”. Alternatively, I would far prefer to submit myself to an “expert” who I can “trust”. Since there are none, I wonder whether a future man in my life trusts either of these entities because his trust ultimately has more value to me than my own.

For the record, I’ve been vaccinated like crazy, used to submit myself for annual flu shots, have been vaccinated in foreign airports in order to get onto a plane, etc. I don’t do those things anymore and I don’t advocate them only realize, realistically, that not everyone has the option to refuse them and therefore I advocate the minimization of risk to include top-notch nutrition (a highly controversial concept itself).

I am fortunate in that before I was conceived, my mother changed her eating and food preparation habits such as to nourish herself and my father with statistically superior nutrition compared to her peers, by way of the nutritional philosophy of Adelle Davis, whose notions, in my view today, were also highly flawed, but still better than the norm. I also have the fortune to have been breast fed, and exposed to plenty of dirt and country living and otherwise was the beneficiary of diverse microbes and plenty of sunshine as a child, and this is what I attribute some of my own enhanced immunity and vigor, which, incidentally, exceeds that of most of my own extended family members.

My emotional well-being is another matter altogether as is my sense of unity with my own family. I don’t have that sense. This is one big reason why I chose not to have children. I advocate unity among families in favor of reduced government interference in our lives, albeit realize that there are limits to growth. Unlimited growth is like a cancer. Universal values are impossible. Thank God!

There is more than one test for HPV. I’ve submitted myself for the U.S. Government approved ones. Always negative. The last time I had one, the female doctor practically raped me with that speculum. Ouch! Bitch. Her technique was entirely unnecessary. Did she also mishandle my specimen? I sure hope not.

However, there are other tests which are not U.S. Government approved. Not because they aren’t effective, only that they aren’t cost-effective on a statistical basis, assuming that today’s health mean is the ideal one, unnecessary tests are somehow bad, and some attrition of those persons on the statistical extremes is socially desirable. This is probably why my next lover, if any, will probably either be a statistician, medical doctor, virologist, or foreigner with a testing laboratory that he trusts who can certify that we are both entirely free of any live known carcinogenic strain of HPV (rather than merely genetic markers of past infection). That’s a bigger investment than most men are willing to make for an over-the-hill slut such as myself. However what’s the point doing such a thing separately? How do I know that his expert, what with patient confidentiality and all, has used a test that I can trust? The same goes for me. Why would he trust how I got my results?

As for all those frightened people who are part of the demographic (“The Baby Boomers”) of whom 70% have been exposed to HPV, who have not submitted themselves to any test or to only the bare minimum (i.e., “The Pap Smear”), but are afraid of those who admit to being exposed, we’re probably best off not being lovers or sharing men. Have a nice day. My statistical luck is bound to run out eventually and I would hate for it to be with you. For all I know, you’re harboring a new strain of HPV to which you’ve become immune but which you are capable of passing on to me; but yet should you yourself become ill from it; you’re likely to blame me. No thanks.

Hopefully those idiots are not now out seeking virgins in order to minimize their own risk while decrying the very same practice among HIV-positive Africans who rape virgins.

Thanks to “diversity” and “equalism” the notion that individuals may have developed different and conflicting values based on environmental, seasonal, and geographic pressures within one’s collective memory is not considered “politically correct.” After all, indoctrination (a.k.a. “education”) is widely available to all and all schools are exactly the same. Right? If they aren’t it must be because cruel, selfish, deceptive persons like me have still been permitted to exist.

Blind spots, however, exist within us all. Age and maturity tend to diminish them. However, they are there for a reason, and that is to maintain a positive, optimistic outlook. (See Pandora.) If one allows one’s mind to reveal the dark and unintended consequences of life itself, it becomes apparent, that all birth requires death; all hope requires despair; all growth requires retraction; and there is no free lunch. Therefore, even with the very best of intentions, someone is going to get hurt and that might well be one’s grandchildren.

There is no utopia or stasis, at least not in this world. The notion of “Heaven” or “Nirvana” interests me. Is such a thing the “freedom” from the agony of choice? Is that not the same as “Hell”?

I believe that it is entirely possible that as human beings we are required to change our own blind spots over time, generations, etc., and this by necessity will cause values to change, otherwise there will be ideological bubbles which grow and grow until they burst violently. A utopia is always destined to be a dystopia. Love is the only thing that makes the whole mess worthwhile.

At least I have my memories.

3 thoughts on “Knowledge and Other Bubbles

  1. Pingback: Knowledge and Other Bubbles | Manosphere.com

Leave a Reply

