Karen Straughan Defines Rape

Look at the nature of the crime. It is a crime that is a legal act that millions of people have every day that is only designated as a crime because of two states of mind:…

Her lack of consent, his awareness of her lack of consent. …All the evidence of rape is evidence of a legal act. Other than her testimony and his testimony, it is a very difficult thing to prove. It is a very difficult thing to disprove.”

From the “debate” (no time-limit, no formal rebuttal, multiple-interruptions, grandstanding, etc.) at approximately 47 minutes into this video: http://youtu.be/5z7nteHMPJ8

The problem with both “Rape Culture” and “Consent Culture” is that it attempts to define a negative, continuously, over time, and even after the fact. This is what I would call a serious passion killer and a call to arms in the battle of the sexes. Is that its true aim?

Feminists and gay rights activists decry the “government in our bedrooms”, but yet, isn’t this exactly the obvious trajectory of this movement? What will constitute the proof of absence of the withdrawal of consent? Since it is impossible to prove absence of anything, rape culture and consent culture merely fan the flames of gender-baiting. They are both therefore more aptly named, “Gender War Culture”.

Absence of proof is not proof of absence.-William Cowper (1731 – 1800)

Copyright 2014 Caprizchka

Update @Antigone Darling says: “Antigone Darling says: “I decided to go through the cancer machine. The thought of allowing these people to touch me was more than I could handle after some recent events that have left me feeling very insecure about my person. After posing in the machine (which was a difficult task for me, knowing what I was subjecting myself to) I was told that the TSA scum would have to “clear my torso.” I told her that the reason I went through the cancer machine was to not get a pat down. She said she would call her supervisor, give me a private screening, etc. I told her that I don’t let strangers touch me, I don’t want to cry in public or in private and that there is no way that she is taking me anywhere out of view.
Her supervisor comes over and says that she’ll handle me. She says that she must clear my torso. She makes me stand on a particular mat. As I’ve been dealing with her, I’ve scrunched up my shirt, demonstrating that there is nothing there. “Are you going to gut me to see what I had for breakfast?” At this point, I lift my shirt, exposing my belly. The look of horror/disgust on this perpetrators face… She is the one forcing herself on me and yet, I have somehow offended her sensibilities by exposing my skin. Seriously, fuck her.
I’m not exactly sure if this was when she threatened to call over a LEO. (She pronounced the acronym.) I confirm with her that she is only touching my torso and “consent”. Two male TSA scumbags stare at me as I let tears rolls down my face. I don’t bother to wipe them as they take all of my belongings and check EVERYTHING for explosive residue, or whatever.
They find my cash. The TSA scumbag calls over the most the perpetrator. I tell her that is less than $10,000. Much less. She loses interest in it at that point, does not inspect further.
When they’re done fucking with me, they all say, “Thank you.” “Have a great day.” “Have a great flight.” etc. I don’t look at them and I don’t speak to them. I know people have had worse experiences. This was mine…
Feminists take note – THIS is rape culture, not a crass joke at a party.”
https://www.facebook.com/antigone.darling

One thought on “Karen Straughan Defines Rape

  1. RAINN (Rape, Abuse, & Incest National Network) distances themselves from “rape culture” http://rainn.org/images/03-2014/WH-Task-Force-RAINN-Recommendations.pdf:

    “In the last few years, there has been an unfortunate trend towards blaming “rape culture” for the extensive problem of sexual violence on campuses. While it is helpful to point out the systemic barriers to addressing the problem, it is important to not lose sight of a simple fact: Rape is caused not by cultural factors but by the conscious decisions, of a small percentage of the community, to commit a violent crime.

    “While that may seem an obvious point, it has tended to get lost in recent debates. This has led to an inclination to focus on particular segments of the student population (e.g., athletes), particular aspects of campus culture (e.g., the Greek system), or traits that are common in many millions of law-abiding Americans (e.g., “masculinity”), rather than on the subpopulation at fault: those who choose to commit rape. This trend has the paradoxical effect of making it harder to stop sexual violence, since it removes the focus from the individual at fault, and seemingly mitigates personal responsibility for his or her own actions…

    “…Thanks to repeated messages from parents, religious leaders, teachers, coaches, the media and, yes, the culture at large, the overwhelming majority of these young adults have learned right from wrong, and enter college knowing that rape falls squarely in the latter category.

    “…Perhaps counter-intuitively, we recommend not focusing prevention messaging towards potential perpetrators…Importantly, research has shown that prevention efforts that focus solely on men and “redefining masculinity,” as some programs have termed it, are unlikely to be effective. …we can benefit from decades’ of sex offender treatment work, which supports that it is all but impossible to reprogram a serial offender with a simple prevention message.

    “RAINN recommends a three-tiered approach when it comes to preventing sexual violence on college campuses. A prevention campaign should include the following elements:
    1. Bystander intervention education: empowering community members to act in response to acts of sexual violence.
    2. Risk-reduction messaging: empowering members of the community to take steps to increase their personal safety.
    3. General education to promote understanding of the law, particularly as it relates to the ability to consent.”

Leave a Reply

